One Year In

Eric’s Thoughts

Exactly one year ago today, Jenny and I went our very first date. I already knew her well enough to know that an adventure would get her attention better than a cup of a coffee (“Gross!”), and I wanted to talk to her too badly to suggest a movie. So, instead, I found the hardest possible trail that the two of us could both reasonably drive to, and I asked her to take a walk with me.

I got us lost immediately. And, as she remembers it, I spent the entire time “just covered in sweat.” All I remember for certain is knowing that, beyond a doubt, this guitar-playing, hoop-dancing, yoga expert, who could utter the names of a dozen musical genres I had never heard of in my life in one breath, who had traveled all over the world, this sweet, passionate artist who needed a life of happiness and excitement… I knew that she was way, way too hot for me, and that clearly I had gotten away with something remarkable.

But, from that long, hot, (literally) misguided hike, I also knew that I needed Jenny in my life. And, a year later, I’ve rock climbed, swing danced (Twice! The shame…), learned guitar with her (and to hula hoop!), climbed new mountains, and eaten endless amounts of new food (and had a near-death experience with yu choy).

For me, it’s been an endless adventure and an amazing year. And it’s all because of this cutie:

13199069_3810336659346_967781517_o.jpg

13275931_3823450107174_958751477_n.jpg
So, watch out for us next year! We’ve taken all the easy countries, so now we’re going to really kick things up.

And maybe we’ll really get crazy, and buy a tablecloth or something.

IMG_5758.JPG

Follow Meal Ticket for 2 on Instagram!

 

 

Leave a Reply

